The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why The Capistrano Dispatch is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

–From the Capistrano Unified School District 

The The Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees voted to approve the contracts of  Woodrow Carter as Superintendent; Ron Lebs as Deputy Superintendent, Business and Support Services; and Sherine Smith as Deputy Superintendent, Education at their June 2 meeting.


 Mr. Carter was hired as the school district’s interim superintendent in September 2007. Mr. Lebs joins CUSD from Sylvan Union School District in Modesto, California, where he served for nine years, first as Director of Facilities and then as Business Manager/CBO. Mrs. Smith has served in CUSD for twenty-two years as a teacher, assistant principal, principal, and assistant superintendent.


 The Board also acted to appoint three administrators to district level assignments, and named several new principals.


 Trustees announced that Pamela Watkins and Holly Feldt were named as Executive Directors, Elementary Support, with the responsibility of supervising and supporting elementary sites. Mrs. Watkins and Mrs. Feldt will replace the retiring Assistant Superintendent, Elementary Education, Lois Anderson. Ms. Watkins began her career as a teacher in 1977 and has held numerous elementary and secondary positions in public education. Currently she is the principal at Canyon Vista Elementary School. Ms. Feldt has served for the past nineteen years in CUSD as a teacher and assistant principal and presently serves as principal of Las Flores Middle School.


 The Board also voted to name Julie Hatchel Chief Communications Officer, replacing Beverly de Nicola, who will return as principal of Capistrano Adult and Community Education. Current principal Dr. Carol Tomlinson will be retiring this summer. Ms. Hatchel joined CUSD in 1996 as a middle school teacher before moving into the role of assistant principal and elementary principal, and currently serves as principal of Wood Canyon Elementary School.


 Additionally, the Board announced the appointment of Monét Hause, Sandra McKinney and Shelley Overstreet as Elementary School Principals. Ms. Hause was an Assistant Principal for eight years in Capistrano Unified and San Diego City Schools. Sandra McKinney began her career in CUSD in 1992 as a teaching assistant principal, and has served as a Learning Support Specialist/Home Hospital Supervisor for the last five years. Shelley Overstreet has worked in CUSD as an elementary teacher and various leadership roles including interim principal and assistant principal. Currently she serves as a principal in Huntington Beach City School District. 


 CUSD also announced the following principal assignments for the 2008-09 school year:

 Shawn Lohman, currently Executive Director of Facilities Planning and previously the principal of Wagon Wheel Elementary School in Coto de Caza, will serve as the new principal of Don Juan Avila Elementary School in Aliso Viejo. Current Principal Dennie Samuels is retiring.


Barbara Scholl, Director of Music, will become principal of Bergeson Elementary School in Laguna Niguel, replacing Ed Neely who is retiring.


Donald Mahoney, currently principal at Viejo Elementary School in Mission Viejo, will be taking over at Canyon Vista Elementary School in Aliso Viejo to replace principal Pam Watkins who will take on her new role as Executive Director, Elementary Support.


 Laura Lyon, who has served as a teacher and a Learning Support Specialist at several CUSD elementary schools, has been assigned as principal of Castille Elementary School in Mission Viejo, where principal Pam Beine is retiring.


 Christina Portillo, the Learning Support Specialist at Kinoshita Elementary School in San Juan Capistrano, has been appointed to be principal of R. H. Dana Elementary School in Dana Point. Current principal Chris Weber has accepted an assignment in another school district.

 Scott Wilbur has been named principal of Hankey K-8 School in Mission Viejo to succeed retiring Principal Cheryl Spetrino. Scott Wilbur is currently the principal at Mary Bragg Elementary School at the ABC Unified School District.  


Kristen Nelson, presently the Executive Director of State and Federal Programs, will take over as principal of Las Palmas Elementary School in San Clemente.


Doug Kramer, currently the principal of Las Palmas Elementary School in San Clemente, has been named the new principal of Viejo Elementary School in Mission Viejo, replacing Donald Mahoney.


 Sandra McKinney, serving as Learning Support Specialist at R.H. Dana Exceptional Needs Facility and  Viejo Elementary School, will take over as principal of Lobo Elementary School in San  Clemente. Lobo principal Debbie McCormick is retiring at the end of the school year.


Jackie Campbell, presently Director of English Language Development, will be the new principal of Marblehead Elementary School in San Clemente. She will take over for principal Kathy Oshima, who is retiring.


Monet Hause, previously a Learning Support Specialist, is returning from leave to take the helm at Oak Grove Elementary School in Aliso Viejo. Principal Margie Lunder is retiring at the end of the year.


Judy Shades, presently serving as Executive Director of Elementary Special Education Services, will serve as principal of Reilly Elementary School in Mission Viejo. Current principal Karen Clay is retiring.


 Shelley Overstreet has been appointed principal of Wood Canyon Elementary School in Aliso Viejo. Principal Julie Hatchel will become Chief Communications Officer for the district.


Tim Brooks, the current Interim Principal at Arroyo Vista K-8, was named as the school’s principal last month.


Shannon Soto, who is serving as the interim principal at San Juan Hills High School, has been appointed principal of Las Flores Middle School. Current principal Holly Feldt will be assuming the position of Executive Director, Elementary Support.


Beverly de Nicola will serve as principal of Capistrano Adult and Community Education upon the retirement of principal Carol Tomlinson.


Tom Ressler, the current principal at Capistrano Valley High School, has been assigned as principal of San Juan Hills High School, taking over for Interim Principal Shannon Soto.


 “We have had many changes in our administrative line-up this year.” said Superintendent Woodrow Carter, “We are sorry to say goodbye to so many retiring principals, but we are fortunate to have a lot of administrative talent in this school district, and we are very pleased with our new administrative team.” 



Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Capo Dispatch