By Allison Jarrell

Newly-elected Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees members Martha McNicholas, Gila Jones and Lynn Hatton-Hodson were officially sworn into their seats Wednesday, Dec. 10.

Hatton-Hodson, who was re-elected last month to a second term, was chosen as the new president of the board. She succeeds John Alpay, who served two consecutive terms as president. Trustee Amy Hanacek was selected as vice president, and McNicholas was elected as clerk.

“Thank you to all of our supporters who got us through this election,” Hatton-Hodson said during Monday night’s meeting. “Your support is invaluable.”

Alpay, who began his time on the board as clerk, said he enjoyed getting a lot done over the last four years, including hiring new superintendent Kirsten Vital.

Hatton-Hodson represents Area 7, which covers Rancho Santa Margarita, Mission Viejo and Coto de Caza. McNicholas represents Area 4, which includes parts of Laguna Niguel and Dana Point. Jones represents Area 6, which covers portions of Mission Viejo, Laguna Niguel and San Juan Capistrano.

The board’s next regularly scheduled meeting is Jan. 14 at 7 p.m. at the CUSD board room, located at 33122 Valle Road in San Juan Capistrano.

About The Author Capo Dispatch