The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why The Capistrano Dispatch is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

By Shawn Raymundo

In a special board meeting Monday, Sept. 9, the Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees voted to appoint its newest and seventh member to fill the vacant seat left behind by former Trustee Gary Pritchard.

Krista Castellanos, an Aliso Viejo resident and kindergarten teacher at John Muir Fundamental Elementary, was appointed to represent CUSD’s Area 5 and serve out the rest of Pritchard’s term, which is set to expire in 2020.

“We are delighted to welcome Trustee-elect Castellanos to the CUSD Board of Trustees,” the district said in an emailed statement. “Ms. Castellanos is a tireless advocate for public schools, a public school teacher, a parent in our District, and a leader in PTA.”

CUSD Trustee-elect Krista Castellanos (center) poses for a photo with her supporters following the district’s special meeting to appoint her as a replacement for former Trustee Gary Pritchard’s seat Monday, Sept. 9. Photo: Courtesy of CUSD

Castellanos will be sworn in during the district’s next board meeting later this month, according to CUSD spokesperson Ryan Burris.

The trustee-elect was one of four candidates who sought the open Area 5 seat, which represents portions of Aliso Viejo and Laguna Niguel. Jeremy Cogan of Laguna Niguel, Anita Narayana of Aliso Viejo and Jake Vollebregt, an Aliso Viejo resident, were also vying for the position.

According to Burris, each candidate was allowed to make a three-minute statement before taking questions from trustees during the special board meeting Monday night.

Following a public-comment portion, the trustees nominated Castellanos to be considered for the appointment, along with Cogan, the director of Facilities Planning for the Santa Ana Unified School District, and Vollebregt, the director of Regional and Legal Affairs for Moulton Niguel Water District.

Because there were multiple nominations, a candidate must receive a minimum of four votes from trustees in order to receive the official nod for the position. The voting process can be repeated until there’s a four-vote consensus for one candidate.

During the first two rounds of voting, Burris said, none of the nominated candidates received four votes. At the conclusion of the third round of voting, Castellanos received a total of five votes, earning her the official appointment.

The Area 5 seat became vacant Aug. 9 when Pritchard, who was serving as vice president of the board this year, resigned from his post because he relocated out of the area. The district’s board met in mid-August, deciding to initiate an appointment process to find a replacement, rather than hold a special election.

The next Board of Trustees meeting is scheduled for Sept. 18 at the district’s headquarters in San Juan Capistrano at 7 p.m.


SR_1Shawn Raymundo
Shawn Raymundo is the city editor for The Capistrano Dispatch. He graduated from Arizona State University with a bachelor’s degree in Global Studies. Before joining Picket Fence Media, he worked as the government accountability reporter for the Pacific Daily News in the U.S. territory of Guam. Follow him on Twitter @ShawnzyTsunami and follow The Dispatch @CapoDispatch.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Capo Dispatch

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>