The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why The Capistrano Dispatch is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

City Council members Kerry Ferguson, Derek Reeve and Pam Patterson gather for a photo at San Juan Capistrano's Veterans Day ceremony. Photo: Allison Jarrell
City Council members Kerry Ferguson, Derek Reeve and Pam Patterson gather for a photo at San Juan Capistrano’s Veterans Day ceremony. Photo: Allison Jarrell

The Capistrano Dispatch

Election Results: Council Member Reeve Reelected, Two Newcomers Added

San Juan voters are ready for a change in City Hall.

With all 20 precincts reporting before midnight Tuesday, newcomer Pam Patterson took the first of three open San Juan Capistrano City Council seats with 3,334 votes. Incumbent Derek Reeve was reelected with 3,152 votes, and a second newcomer, Kerry Ferguson, took the final seat with 2,802 votes.

Former council members Larry Kramer and John Taylor trailed Ferguson with 2,139 votes and 1,963 votes. Newcomers Rob Williams, Jan Siegel, Stephanie Frisch and Greg Acho received 1,960, 1,621, 1,489 and 224 votes respectively.

Patterson joins the council with experience as a constitutional attorney and businesswoman, while Ferguson’s background is in business and as an educator.

CUSD Votes Show Support for Capistrano Unified Children First Candidates

With all precincts reporting in for the Capistrano Unified School District Board Trustee Area 4 seat, Martha McNicholas has been elected.  She currently has 5,191 votes to opponent Craig Alexander’s 3,817. Incumbent Anna Bryson chose not to seek reelection in the seat.

In the race for CUSD Trustee Area 6 seat, which includes San Juan Capistrano, with early ballots and 29 of 29 precincts in, it appears Gila Jones has been elected. Jones currently has 3,970 votes to incumbent Ellen M. Addonizio’s 2,757.

In trustee area 7, which is located primarily in Mission Viejo, incumbent Lynn Hatton held a lead over Julie Collier, 4,791 votes to 4,293. Hatton is the current vice president of the board.

McNicholas, Jones and Hatton are each endorsed by the Capistrano Unifed Children First group that also supports board members John Alpay, Amy Hanacek and Gary Pritchard. Addonizio and Bryson were the last of the “ABC” trustees first elected in 2006, leaving the lone remaining “reform” trustee as Jim Reardon of San Juan Capistrano.

Kashkari Concedes to Brown in California Gubernatorial Race

The earliest polling results posted Tuesday night showed Democratic Gov. Jerry Brown with a substantial lead over his GOP challenger Neel Kashkari.

As of 9 p.m., Kashkari conceded to Brown before a crowd at the Westin South Coast Plaza in Costa Mesa where he congratulated the four-term governor. During his speech, Kashkari urged Brown to utilize his last four years in office to “be the boldest governor in California history” and told supporters he was “just getting warmed up.”

Orange County Republicans Take Lead in State Races

Four south Orange County Republican politicians, with ties to Dana Point, have been elected to higher office.

Patricia Bates, current Orange County Supervisor for the 5th District, beat Democrat Gary Kephart in the state Senate 36th District race, 71.3 percent to 28.7 percent.

Bates’ supervisor seat was won by Dana Point Mayor Lisa Bartlett. Bartlett beat Laguna Niguel Councilman Robert Ming, earning 54.9 percent of the vote.

In the state Board of Equalization 4th District race, Diane Harkey defeated Nader Shahatit with 62.1 percent of the vote. Harkey currently serves as assemblywoman for the 73rd District, a contest that sees Dana Point City Councilman Bill Brough leading lawyer and professor Wendy Gabriella, 68 to 32 percent.

Darrell Issa Re-Elected to Congress, Adds to Majority

Rep. Darrell Issa will return to U.S. House of Representatives.

With 66 percent of votes counted as of 1:30 a.m, Issa held a commanding lead over Democratic opponent Dave Peiser in the 49th Congressional District race, which encompasses portions of northern San Diego and southern Orange counties.

Issa has served in the House since 2001 and is chairman of the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform.

All 435 Congressional seats were up for election. House Republicans maintained their majority, which has grown to 240 seats compared to the Democrats 174 with 21 races still to be decided.

Voters Weigh in on State Props, Embrace “Rainy Day” Measure

Californian’s voters strongly supported the $7.5 billion water bond that will help pay for improvements to California’s water supply, including water quality, delivery and storage systems.

Returns show the measure leading with 67 percent of the vote.

State voters have also decisively voted to overhaul the state’s rainy day fund. Proposition 2, which will require the state to save 1.5 percent of its annual revenues to provide a greater buffer for budget shortfalls, is currently favored by 69 percent of California voters.

Two medical-related propositions are being voted down by Californians.

The first, proposition 45, which was being fought by HMO’s in the weeks leading up to the election, was falling to 2.27 million “no” votes. The measure would have given the state’s insurance commissioner the power to cap insurance costs. It would have also required insurance companies to give reason for any price increases.

Voters also appear to have rejected proposition 46 which would increase malpractice settlements and require drug tests for doctors.

When it comes to reducing penalties for non-violent misdemeanor crimes, voters showed strong support. As of 11:40 p.m., California voters widely approved the measure 2.19 million “yes” votes to 1.5 million “no” votes.

And while voters overwhelmingly voted Gov. Brown in for a fourth term, they rejected a law approved by the state Legislature and signed by Brown approving an off-reservation casino. Voters have shown strong opposition to the measure that would have set a precedent for gaming statewide.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Capo Dispatch