The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why The Capistrano Dispatch is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

Newly elected District 5 City Councilman Brian Maryott (left) and District 1 Councilman Sergio Farias. Photos: Allison Jarrell
Newly elected District 5 City Councilman Brian Maryott (left) and District 1 Councilman Sergio Farias. Photos: Allison Jarrell

By Allison Jarrell

Four weeks after San Juan Capistrano’s historic by-district election, the Orange County Registrar of Voters’ final vote count confirms that Sergio Farias of District 1 and Brian Maryott of District 5 will serve four-year terms on the City Council beginning next week.

Farias, a small business owner, won the District 1 Council race with 961 votes (58.6 percent of the vote). His challenger, Cultural Heritage Commissioner Nathan Banda, received 679 votes.

In District 5, financial services executive Brian Maryott won the race with 1,992 votes (43.4 percent of the vote). Mission San Juan Capistrano executive director Mechelle Lawrence Adams came in second with 1,190 votes, and Larry Kramer, retired submarine captain and former mayor, came in third with 746 votes. Media executive Ronda Mottl earned 442 votes, professional geologist and professor Jim Schneider received 187 votes, and Parks & Recreation Commissioner Robert Parks, who dropped out of the race, took 36 votes.

Farias and Maryott will fill the seats of outgoing City Councilmen Sam Allevato and John Perry. Allevato was unable to run for his seat, as he lives in District 2. Perry lives in District 5 but chose not to run. Farias and Maryott will be sworn in on Monday, Dec. 12 at 5 p.m. at City Hall.

Residents in Districts 2, 3 and 4 will vote for candidates in the 2018 City Council race.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Capo Dispatch

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>